Traveling and staying on track

11 Mar

Today I’m on my way to Oklahoma City to see some of my friends and family for a few days. It seemed only logical to write about how I stay on track with my workouts and diet on trips 🙂 for me, diet is the hard part so I’ll start with that…

It seems to me going out to eat is the easy part. Most restaurants have a basic chicken and veggie dish if nothing else. My big thing is avoiding sauces or anything that I don’t know exactly what it is. I am completely on board with “clean eating” I hate the word diet because I think healthy eating should be an everyday lifestyle…. Especially controlling portions which is the hard part at most restaurants. Remember balance is important and if you don’t know what is in something, don’t be afraid to ask (Especially if you are on a gluten free diet)

Eating at a friend’s house is even harder. Of course you don’t want to be rude (and you need to eat) so the key here is also portion control and unless they made your favorite dessert especially for you, maybe skip the cake and ice cream 🙂 I’ve also offered to bring fruit or something along those lines for an after dinner sweet tooth.

Now work outs. If you can, schedule your off days during your trip. If not or if it’s an extended trip, I love circuit training and interval runs. I can run sprint intervals for 20 minutes and know I got a great cardio workout instead of 45 min endurance run or spin class. Weight lifting? 30 min of circuit training and really pushing yourself can be enough. There are tons of different circuit workouts online but one of my favorites for legs is:

20 squats

30 walking lunges (15 each leg)

20 sumo squats (when your legs are wide and your feet are turned out)

10 squat jumps

Rest 30-60 sec and repeat 2-3 times

1 min plank

30 sec left side plank, 30 sec right side

20 crunches

20 leg lifts

Rests 30-60 sec repeat 2-3 times

Then I either do the squats and lunges again or if I don’t have time, I’m done. I like this because I don’t need weights so I can do it in a hotel or where ever I’m staying and if I take minimal rests my heart rate stays up. If nothing else just make sure to move! Whether it’s a ten minute walk or a 20 min high intensity workout, do something everyday 🙂

Do you have favorite on the go workouts or eating out tricks?

*please remember that is just an example workout, you know your fitness level. Please adapt numbers and exercises as needed if you choose to try it. And if you’re traveling a lot, always have water with you.

2 Responses to “Traveling and staying on track”

  1. OFitCarla March 11, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    I rarely eat out. I don’t travel and I prefer to spend my money on other things. My workouts are the same, I have a home gym but I do spend money on Zumba and Boot Camp. There may be a time when I nee to travel at work in which case I’ll be back for some tips!

  2. Mark Spurbeck March 13, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    Staying healthy while traveling is tough, especially when on vacation. Usually I allow myself to indulge on a vacation — eat a little more, drink a little more — and I think that’s true for most people. One thing we can do while vacationing is to get acquainted with the gym/spa at your resort. Helps keep you on track physically and mentally – just going there may help you remember to dial back the calorie consumption on vacation.

What do you think?

