Home again

14 Mar

Heading back home today, I love traveling and staying busy but it’s always nice to get back to routine. I have two weeks until my next adventure, which means time to take my own advice and add in those extra cardio steps and eating habits. As a reader (fittwincities) pointed out, we all cheat a little on vacation but time to get back at it. I think my favorite part of the first work out back is the motivation after taking a couple days off in a row (which I tend not to do) I usually use the extra motivation to push myself farther on a run but I’m thinking tomorrow may be a boxing day. If you’ve never tried kickboxing (and are capable of doing so) I would completely recommend it! I love it, it’s a total body workout with cardio all mixed into one, and there’s nothing like taking out a little frustration some days 🙂 I started at a kickboxing gym in Oklahoma and haven’t been able to find a new one yet but the gym I work out at has a heavy bag and every once in awhile I find someone to use focus pads with. Your arms and abs will thank you… Once they get over the shock.

What are your favorite high intensity workouts?

 

*MidAtlantic also took this shot… so basically all of them used on the blog so far 🙂

4 Responses to “Home again”

  1. Becky Spurbeck March 15, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    I did a bit of kickboxing in a boot camp, and I loved it. I’d love to try a full class of it. Have you tried any classes in the Cities that you recommend?

    That said, interval sprints are probably my favorite high intensity workout. So draining and wonderful.

    Keep up the good posts!

    • fitandbusy March 15, 2012 at 12:09 am #

      Haven’t tried it yet but… http://www.cellarkickboxing.com/ is one I’ve been wanting to check out when I’m back! I know they also offer female only classes which can be nice.

      Thanks for yalls support!

  2. jthealthyfit March 15, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    Kickboxing is a great workout, agreed. Similar to regular boxing workouts. Jump rope, shadowboxing, mitt work, burpees, heavy bag, etc all in a circuit definitely needs the extra motivation to finish. Have you tried a Crossfit workout yet?!

    • fitandbusy March 15, 2012 at 12:56 am #

      There isn’t one near me but I want to try it so badly!! I’m moving in October and I know the new place has one so for sure I’ll try it then if not before!

What do you think?

