3 + 2 = 5?

15 Mar

I’m the first to admit, diet is my downfall. I love working out, I really do. I also love chocolate, wine, and ice cream. But I’ve started being better and focusing more on my big goals; instead of having the dessert or wine every day, it’s a treat. However along with cutting back on that I tried doing the “5 small meals a day” theory… and I gained about 5 pounds. I cut back to three meals with two snacks and feel a hundred times better and the weight is coming back down. It got me thinking… I’ve seen the science, I understand eating approximately every 3 hours keeps your metabolism up but where did the 5 small meals come from? I eat less calories eating the 3 and 2 as opposed to 5 and generally get in more protein (which when I’m training is key for me to have energy). I think it’s important to remember that there isn’t a “one size fits all” for diets… the general foods you should be eating are pretty fool proof but who’s to say I should eat five 300 Cal meals instead of 3 bigger meals with 2 snacks?

One recommendation I got was to include recipes, so I thought I’d put in an “example day” of my diet.

Breakfast:

3 egg whites, 1 egg scrambled with a bit of pepper and milk

1 cup fruit (I love berries especially)

coffee (black or with a little bit of skim milk)

Snack:

Jamie Eason chocolate protein brownies  ( http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/video-jamie-eason-chocolate-protein-bars.htm )

Lunch:

Chicken with green peppers, onions, and garlic

1/2 C. brown rice

Snack:

1/4 C. almonds and an apple (or sugar snap peas… fruit or veggies)

Dinner:

Pork: I’ll add my favorite recipe at the bottom!

Green Beans

Baked Red Potatoes

I have tons of other recipes on my pinterest: http://pinterest.com/Lmcollett/yummy/ but here’s my favorite new one for pork

Rub Ingredients:
1 1/2 teaspoons sea salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 pork tenderloin (approx 2 1/2 to 3 pounds) cut into quarters
2 tablespoons olive oil
Glaze ingredients:
1 cup packed dark brown sugar
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 tablespoon hot  sauce
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl, stir together salt, pepper, cumin, chili powder, and cinnamon, then coat the pork with the spice rub. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium high heat until the oil is hot and rippling. Brown the pork, turning, about 4 minutes total. If you have a skillet that can go straight into the oven you can leave the pork in the skillet; however, if you are like me and  don’t have an ovenproof skillet, transfer it to a foil-lined baking pan (like a 9X13-inch).
Stir together the brown sugar, garlic, and hot sauce and pat on top of each tenderloin. Roast in the middle of the oven until a thermometer inserted diagonally in center of each tenderloin registers 140, about 25 minutes. Let pork stand in the skillet at room temperature for 10 minutes. The temperature will rise to about 155 while standing. Slice on the diagonal and serve, spooning the sauce from the skillet on top of the pork.

What are your favorite recipes or healthy snack options?

2 Responses to “3 + 2 = 5?”

  1. OFitCarla March 17, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

    Eating five times a day keeps your insulin levels up and isn’t good for you. It also keeps you from eating a real meal and in your mind you won’t feel as satisfied. Eating three meals and two snacks is better…and it still is 5 times a day. 🙂

    • fitandbusy March 17, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      well there we go 🙂 I just feel so much better when I do it that way!

What do you think?

