Taking time for yourself

17 Mar

A day in the life…

Image

 

I worked the past two days, a 12 hour shift Friday and 8 hour today. Leaving the hospital today after traveling all week and going straight into work, I was exhausted. But I had been texting a few people, deciding if I wanted to go out with friends for St. Patty’s or just take a night for myself. I decided I wanted to go to the gym and get groceries and… just catch up on life. It has been wonderful.

First of all, no one was in the gym. At most there were two other people there the whole time which meant I could do everything I wanted, when I wanted. It was perfect. I did a total body workout with some cardio worked in but focused mainly on lifting/toning.  (In case you haven’t been following or noticed… I love circuit training.) I decided to work on biceps, triceps, and glutes but working in a lot of core and some total body moves. Once a month or so I like meeting with a trainer to keep getting new ideas and today I made my own workout combining a little bit of everything. I’ll post it at the end 🙂

Then I went to the grocery store and STOCKED UP on clean food; tons of fruit and veggies, got the ingredients for a couple dishes I’ve been wanting to try. I feel so much better when I follow a “clean” diet. I made jerk spice chicken using the spices from: http://www.eatcleandiet.com/food_and_recipes/clean_recipe/jerk-spiced_tilapia_with_asparagus_and_rice_pilaf.aspx it was delicious!

I also made Jamie Eason’s turkey meatloaf muffins (it’s just a to-go version… it’s good I promise) and made a yogurt ginger marinade for chicken tomorrow… all these recipes are on my pinterest.

It might seem silly… I mean, it is Saint Patrick’s day, but all I wanted when I got home was some chill time and a good night sleep. Even after just a few relaxing hours I feel slightly re-energized and can’t wait until tomorrow. It’s amazing what a workout and good meal can do for you!

Today’s workout:

3 min rotating plank (10 sec center, 10 on left side, 10 center, 10 right… repeat)

20 lateral raises

20 front raises

20 bicep curls

20 cable tricep pull downs

30 weighted crunches

Repeat 2 more times

 

20 squats (body weight)

15 hip extensions/leg

15 “fire-hydrants”/leg

15 hip extension with kick/leg

16 dumb-bell push-ups with row (8/arm)

15 overhead tricep extensions

20 rotating leg raises (10 each side)

Repeat 1 more time

 

20 squats with weight

20 Side step-ups with kick (one foot up on a bench, step up onto it and kick other leg out to the side)

Repeat 1-2 more times

Cool Down

 

Hope you enjoy the workout or recipes from today! (Or both)

What do you think?

