“I’m no superman”

21 Mar

As much as I like to try… I’m no super woman. We just started our final rotation for nursing school, which means we work full time with our preceptor until we get 156 clinical hours. I’m in a setting where I am working 8 hour shifts, starting at 6:30am… which really isn’t so bad, except I’m still trying to work at my hospital job. At that job we’re getting ready to move into a new building, so today I have to go in from 7 to midnight for training… 6:30am to midnight is a long day, and that’s not even counting driving etc.

The point of all this is that I didn’t go to the gym today. I got off my rotation and came home, and am currently making a snack and coffee. And I feel really guilty that I’m not doing the hard workout I planned because yesterday was a scheduled off day… but, sometimes, it’s important to remember we can’t be perfect. I can take a day to just do a 15/20 minute ab or leg workout at home, it isn’t the end of the world. Does it mean that peanut butter ice cream I was saving for tonight should wait until tomorrow… probably. Our body needs rest and sleep as much (probably more depending on the day) as it needs exercise.

To be fair, I have been good about my nutrition today. If you care…

Breakfast: Gluten Free oatmeal

Snack: Jamie Eason Chocolate protein bars

Lunch: Tuna Salad (tuna, lemon juice, pepper) on cucumbers

           Chobani yogurt

Snack: 1/4c almonds, 1/2c grapes

Dinner (plan): jerk spiced chicken with green beans

What do you think?

