So this is a weekend…

24 Mar

I have to say, even though I like having my 4 days off with a normal nursing schedule… having a weekends is pretty nice. I woke up and made oatmeal pancakes (I’ll post the recipe), had time to check in with my family and relax this morning before going to the gym. and still have about 3 hours to get things done before meeting friends for dinner… it’s great!

At the gym I did 3 different leg circuits, trying to rest as little as possible between sets and then a little longer rest when changing circuits:

Warm-up

15 squats (body weight)

50 toe-taps (I use a Bosu and you hop foot to foot just tapping the bosu with your toe)

20 calf raises

(2 times)

15 lunges with front foot on Bosu (15/leg)

20 sumo squats with 20 lb dumbbell

20 adductors/20 abductors per leg

20 hip thrusts (lay on the floor, bend your legs, and push your hips up)

20 reverse crunches

(2 times)

20 hip extensions with 5 lb dumbbell behind knee (per leg)

15 round-house kicks on heavy bag

30 sec wall-sit

(3 times)

 

Oatmeal Pancakes (from Oxygen Magazine but I played with it a little)

1/3 C. oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill, Gluten Free Oats)

4 egg whites

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

5 strawberries cut up (you can use as much or as little fruit as you want, I used banana last time I made them)

Mix it all together and heat on the stove like you would for normal pancakes. I topped mine with strawberries and blueberries mashed up (it was my attempt at a type of syrup)

Here’s the original recipe again if you’d rather try it:

http://www.oxygenmag.com/Nutrition/Articles/Oatmeal-Protein-Pancakes.aspx

One Response to “So this is a weekend…”

  1. furnace repair san jose March 31, 2012 at 3:29 am #

    A very informative article and lots of really honest and forthright comments made! This certainly got me thinking about this issue, thank all.

What do you think?

