Cooking day

25 Mar

Last night I went out for dinner with some friends to a Lebanese tavern, it’s one of my favorite restaurants because it’s reasonably priced and it’s so easy to eat healthy! Now the coconut mojitos don’t fall on the healthy list but… it was a celebration and they’re good 🙂 I’m the first one to admit I enjoy a drink and dessert every now and then, everything in moderation.

But today I’ve been writing a paper and taking care of bills/house stuff before leaving Thursday for my vacation to see my man. I’m just doing cardio and a quick abs workout later today.

I’ve been trying to not buy too many groceries since I don’t want them to go bad but here’s how today’s looked so far:

Breakfast:

Peanut butter and honey toast with some cinnamon on it

Nectarine

Snack:

Cereal with 1% milk (I don’t buy cereal super often because I get addicted but just make sure it’s whole grain and you’re getting one that’s a decent source of fiber and vitamins)

Lunch:

Currently in the oven is a peppercorn pork loin, I’ve never tried it before but here’s the recipe:

1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon very coarsely ground black pepper
1 garlic clove, crushed
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (in the skillet)

1 tablespoon minced jalapenos
2 tablespoons water (I don’t know if you actually need this but I used it)

Mix ingredients and season the meat evenly, sear the seasoning onto the meat in a skillet and then transfer to Bake at 375 per directions on package (I think it’s usually 20 min/lb)

**If you’re in a rush most companies sell a pre-seasoned pork loin: just watch sodium, trim the fat, and make sure you can pronounce the ingredients if you go that route. I think peppercorn chicken would be good too but haven’t tried making that.

I also made protein cookie balls as a pre-workout/energy snack for the next few days, here’s the link for that:

http://www.oxygenmag.com/Nutrition/Articles/Peanut-Butter-Protein-Balls.aspx

One Response to “Cooking day”

  1. focusedonhappy March 25, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    mmm! I’m not the healthiest person in the world, but that pork sounds yummy.

What do you think?

