Vacation

5 Apr

Hawaii was absolutely amazing! There was so much to do and unfortunately we didn’t get to see and do everything we wanted but it was wonderful.

However, as you probably guessed from my lack of posting,definitely a more challenging week for eating right and getting in workouts but the best part about Hawaii was all the outdoor time! Forget a gym, we had beaches and craters. I don’t think there was a single day that we weren’t do something outside, either hiking or walking on the beaches (which, if you’re out there long enough is a heck of a calf workout). But honestly, I gave myself a break and just enjoyed spending time with my fiancé and enjoyed being on vacation. We were active but not killing myself to find the gym 🙂

The food was also amazing!  All the fish was so fresh that eating healthy was easy. There was a wide selection of fish and all sorts of opportunites for healthy meal choices (and some less healthy drink options…)  it was a nice reminder that even on vacation when you’re on a break, the healthy lifestyle is exactly that, a lifestyle. I still made healthy meal choices and didn’t feel deprived of anything. I let myself enjoy a few more drinks throughout the week or desserts than my day to day but it was a treat to do so. It was pricey, we were right on Waikiki beach but even off the beach closer to the airport there were plenty of opportunities for healthy eating.

In the past month of crazy traveling (not even landed yet and off again in 24 hours for Easter), I’ve realized that being on the road isn’t an excuse. I used to make it all the time “it’s my travel day”. While you should enjoy your vacation, making fitness a lifestyle has shown me I can enjoy it and still eat well.

One Response to “Vacation”

  1. Leigh Anne Carson April 5, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Sounds like an awesome trip! I don’t know how you do everything you do- kudos and much love my friend!

What do you think?

