Workout and Groceries

14 Apr

I’ve had an incredibly productive but still relaxing day… it’s a good feeling to get everything done and still have time to just hang out every once in awhile 🙂

I cleaned my apartment this morning and then had to do some organizing for graduation and the wedding but then, after lunch, I made it to the gym and the grocery store. I FINALLY bought Quinoa (which is Gluten Free if you’re curious..) so I’m excited to play with that for some recipes. I’ve also become hooked on Chobani yogurt, if you haven’t tried them yet and you’re looking for good snacks or healthy dessert options, I’d check them out. Other than that I just bought my basics: chicken, veggies, apples/fruit, eggs, GF bread, and this week I bought a trim cut of pork for a recipe I want to try.

I’m also making these pre-workout protein cookie balls, they’re really easy and so good!

http://www.oxygenmag.com/Nutrition/Articles/Peanut-Butter-Protein-Balls.aspx

What are some of your grocery items that you have to keep in the kitchen?

At the gym… Arms and cardio day:

2 min plank (30 sec center, 30 left, 30 right, 30 center)

20 lateral arm raises with 5 lb dumbbells

20 front raises with 5 lb dumbbells

20 rows into tricep kickback with 7 lb dumbbells (like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mtHi8Bs23LA except I do both arms at once so squat down with legs together and bend at the waist so your back is relatively flat, both ways are great)

20 push-ups

*repeat 2 more times, rest in between sets as needed

15 bicep curls with 15 lbs dumbells

20 tricep cable pull downs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7khIU9sEeaw)

20 leg raises

*Repeat 2 more times, rest in between sets

20 hammer head bicep curls with 10 lb dumbbells

15 single arm flies with cable/arm

15 reverse flies with cable/arm

20 “cherry pickers” holding medicine ball (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnogBwadrPA ) I try to do mine with legs straight for a challenge

*Repeat 1 more time

25 min cardio

The whole thing took me just over an hour.

What do you think?

