Getting there

18 Apr

Today was my off day from the gym… so I spent the afternoon marking other things off my to-do list– which at this point in the semester and getting ready to move seems to be never ending. But, that also means it’s weigh in day. I’m staying close to where I want to be with my weight but the better news is my body fat is going down. I don’t trust the scales for an accurate reading but it is a good gauge of whether or not it’s changing, which is nice to know: That being said mine was within 1.5% of the caliper and BodPod measurement.

Anyway, to hold myself accountable I thought I’d post a couple pictures from where I’m at now (**I’m open to tips and advice but rude/inappropriate comments will be removed):

Image

Image

2 Responses to “Getting there”

  1. Becky Spurbeck April 19, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    Looking good, Laura! Keep it up.

    When I read your workouts, I’m often surprised that you’re not lifting heavier weights. You’re clearly strong enough for it, and it’s a good way to build muscle and burn fat quickly.

    Check out this article on the Huff Po: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/caroline-gick/women-weight-lifting_b_1353663.html

    If you’re interested in learning more, the first few chapters of Lou Schuler’s book, “The New Rules of Lifting for Women,” also has some great info. I’ve definitely learned a lot from it. (Actually, the whole book is good, but the first few chapters are a fast read for someone short on time.) http://www.amazon.com/The-New-Rules-Lifting-Women/dp/1583333398/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1334811747&sr=8-1

    • fitandbusy April 19, 2012 at 6:20 am #

      That’s a great point. I used to lift heavier and less reps (like shooting for 12 usually) but in the past few weeks I’ve been going for more reps and slowly rebuilding higher weight that way. I’m def. not afraid to lift heavy and would recommend that set range usually, I’m just mixing it up based on another trainer’s suggestions to try it. 🙂 great article!

What do you think?

