Summer Shoulders

27 Apr

I just liked the alliteration. 🙂 Anyway…

This week has been really stressful; probably in part because I wasn’t making it to the gym as often as normal. So today, after class, I ran a couple errands and then went straight to the gym. Did not pass go, did not collect 200 dollars, did not even check my planner (which for me, is a big deal). And I had one of the best workouts I had in awhile. I’ll put my meals at the very bottom but here goes the workout:

2 min jump rope

12 bicep curls

12 tricep overhead extensions

15 deltoid crosses/arm  (I couldn’t find a video for this, start with your arm out by your side- inside of your wrist facing forward: from there lift your arm up and across your body so your hand is touching the opposite shoulder with back of your hand facing out)

15 front raises

8 min boxing combos

Repeat 3 times (including the jump rope every time!) **I love this, it kept my heart rate up with alternating jump rope and kickboxing

Then I moved onto abs

20 crunches with weight

20 crunches with knees up

20 leg lifts with a 25 lb bar as counterweight

20 crunches with knees out

30 side to side leg lifts with 25 lb counterweight (15/side)

20 leg lifts with counterweight

12 wide push-ups

12 narrow push-ups

15 oblique cable twists/side

Then went back to arms and did 3 sets of 12 bench presses, 3 sets of 12 cable flys, and 2 more sets of oblique cable twists (in that order).

After all that I came home and got a present in the mail! I had mentioned the site to my fiance and apparently he sent this to me afterward 😀 Great reward for a hard workout and getting back into my fitness routine

Image

 

Meals:

Breakfast- 3 egg whites, 1 egg, splash of milk and some pepper

Snack- apple, 1/4 C almonds, chocolate milk (some research shows chocolate milk has an ideal blend for recovery… and it’s delicious)

Lunch/Post-workout- Gluten Free Oatmeal with blueberries and 1/2 scoop of vanilla protein powder

Dinner (plan)- Chicken, Asparagus, Quinoa

3 Responses to “Summer Shoulders”

  1. johnac23 April 27, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Awesome! Fitness has it’s rewards &!the
    payoff is so worth it great work!!!

  2. Leslie July 19, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    Love the tank! Where did you (or fiancé) order it from?

    • fitandbusy July 20, 2013 at 2:33 am #

      Hubby got it… I have no idea where but I will try to find out!

What do you think?

