A different perspective

30 May

This morning I worked with a trainer at Anytime Fitness so I can’t take credit for the workout. Since I did legs yesterday, today was upper-body. Tomorrow is an off day (it would have been running but my leg/hip still hurts so…)

Working with a new trainer is always a little weird the first time. As a trainer, you want to push your client but you don’t want to push to the point where they won’t come back, you have to build a trust. As a client, you want to be pushed but it’s also a personality match. For example, I don’t work well with trainers who really get in my face but some people need that. A good trainer, like a good nurse 🙂 , can pick out which clients need what and how to work with each personality type.

My thoughts on having a trainer? If it’s in your budget… I think, even for those of us who know what to do, it’s a great way to get new ideas and really have someone push you. Even going once a month or once every couple months. (Plus they can help track your progress with measurements etc) For those new to working out or trying to create a big change, I think they are a great resource to help you reach your goals. I also think there are plenty of ways to do it yourself if it isn’t within your budget to hire them: most trainers on the lower end of average run about $70 for an hour.

I may mix up the order a bit but here’s what he had me doing:

25 push-ups then 10 on my knees

15 cable rows

15 shoulder presses (we had to play with weights and reps on this since my shoulder is reconstructed)

30 sit-ups

*2 times

15 incline presses

15 lateral shoulder raises

15 lat pull-downs

25 leg lifts

*2 sets

15 bicep curls

15 cable tricep pull-downs

50 bicycles (the ab exercise)

*2 sets

Then he had me do a variety of plank exercises (lifting arms one at a time, then legs, then opposite arm and leg at the same time) and about 10 more minutes of abs. We’ll see how I feel tomorrow 🙂

 

2 Responses to “A different perspective”

  1. johnac23 May 30, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I’m a Personal Trainer and I know what you mean about finding the right trainer! It’s a balance of give and take I always listen too my
    clients too gauge their status of how they are
    doing!pushig just hard enough but not going
    overboard!

  2. how to win at the lottery June 6, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    Great post! I have you book marked to check out new stuff you publish!

What do you think?

