Carrot Cake Bars and outdoor gear

16 Jun

I haven’t made it to the gym yet today but I have some fun things to write about before I do…

First, a shout out for those outdoorsy people who follow, there is a new store that opened in MN called Tradition Creek. I went to the grand opening today and it looks great! Great prices for hiking, camping, etc. Hopefully this summer I’ll get some more hiking and outdoors time in, it’s been awhile unfortunately. For those a little farther away from us, check out the website: http://www.traditioncreek.com/storefront/ Plus, it’s a small business, so I think it’s always good to support small companies (and you generally get better customer service). Okay, done advertising 😉

Second, and possibly more important depending on what your interests are… protein carrot cake! I made Jamie Eason’s recipe for the first time today (along with the usual brownies and turkey muffins) and they are SO GOOD. Get over the fact that you cook with baby food and try them:

1 C oat flour (I used a GF mix)

3/4 C Splenda or Truvia

2 scoops Vanilla Whey Protein

2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg (slight change from her recipe)

4 egg whites

8 oz carrot baby food

4 oz water

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Mix all ingredients together, pour into greased baking pan and bake at 350 for approx 20 min (Mine were done in 18) 94 calories! Jamie’s website isn’t clear on whether it’s 94 Cal a bar or a serving but based on the ingredients I’m guessing a serving which is 2-3 bars. Plus 10 grams of protein and only 1.25 grams of fat. Enjoy!

One Response to “Carrot Cake Bars and outdoor gear”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’ve done instead of Facebook… | fit and busy - March 13, 2014

    […] I made granola for the week and a new variation of carrot cake bars. I adapted Jamie Eason’s recipe to make it gluten free and I’m not a fan of any of the […]

What do you think?

