yummy

20 Jun

After pole yesterday I was bruised and sore (no rude comments…) so I took today off to take care of other things. I ran a ton of errands I’d been putting off, took some practice tests for my NCLEX, and got some things in line to get my wedding invites ready. All that means that it’s going to be a food post today 🙂

For breakfast I made oatmeal. The grocery store was out of the flavored oatmeal I usually buy so I’ve been making my own:

1 package (about 1 C) of oatmeal

blueberries and strawberries to taste

1/2 tbsp Truvia

It was good but sweet, maybe less Truvia.

AM snack was an apple and the carrot cake protein bars on the go

The rest of the day was a clean out the fridge because I forgot to defrost some meat day… yep. Turned out pretty well. Lunch was 2 turkey meatloaf muffins, brown rice and beans, and snow peas.

Afternoon snack was coffee… which doesn’t really count.

For dinner I cooked for me and my dad; he said he liked it (so there ya go, no more “healthy doesn’t taste good” excuse).

Cajun flavored Chicken Sausage (organic, no additives the ingredients are literally: chicken, onion, and the four or five spices they use)

Rice cooked in chicken broth (stole this from my Aunt: made it with no salt added, all natural broth)

1/2 onion

1 red pepper

1 tbsp garlic (or to taste)

black pepper to taste

1 cup water

I cooked the onion in the broth while bringing it to a boil and then added in the rice, peppers, and chicken sausage while lowering the heat to a simmer: when it was close to done I added in the garlic, water, and pepper and let it simmer a bit longer. It turned out really well, I’m excited I have some left over!

What do you think?