Pistachio Crusted Salmon (and Legs)

2 Jul

Quick post before taking a practice test for the NCLEX. Had my EMT course and then ran a couple errands before finally making it to the gym this evening. It was one of those days where even making it was a little victory, the heat index was 107 (which I realize for some of you won’t seem that bad but, I was dying) and I was just tired.

BUT I went, and actually had a really good leg workout. For the sake of honesty, I did skip my cardio. When I got home my mom had made Pistachio Crusted Salmon from a McCormick and Schmick’s recipe: it was delicious and super easy! (For those who recently started following, I’m home for the summer until future hubby gets home from a deployment).

Here’s the recipe, leg workout will be at the bottom:

2 Salmon Fillets

1/3 C Pistachios (which are one of the lowest fat and Calorie nuts, still with all the fiber and antioxidants)

1/8 tsp Cayenne Pepper (I’d add a bit more)

2 tbs fresh cilantro

Olive Oil (spray or about 1 tbs)

Preheat oven to 350. Chop pistachios and mix with pepper and chopped cilantro (or throw it all in a food processor). Lightly coat the salmon with olive oil and then coat with the pistachio mix.

Spray baking pan, put in the salmon, and back for 15-20 minutes (until it flakes easily).

Then for dessert since I had just finished a workout and hadn’t had veggies with dinner (which is a no-no but… I was lazy) I made a vanilla whey protein shake. I’ll probably end up snacking on some sugar snap-peas while I study.

After I warmed up and did some core exercises, here is my leg workout for the day:

8 Split-leg lunges/leg

8 Squats

15 side lunges with medicine ball rotation (I did 15 since the medicine ball was only 10 lbs)

*3 sets, then drop the weight to half of what you were lifting and do 20 of everything

24 walking lunges (so 12/side) with weight

8 dead-lifts

8 sumo squats

*3 sets then drop the weight to half and do one set of 20 reps for everything

Then I did 2 sets of this:

20 Calf-Raises

12 Hip Extensions with weight tucked behind my knee

12 “Fire Hydrants” with weight behind my knee

20 Hip extensions, extending through the knee (so down on all fours, instead of just lifting from the hip your bent leg, kick back with your foot so your extending leg is straight) **if anyone has a better name or description feel free to comment!

Then stretched out and called it a day.

 

3 Responses to “Pistachio Crusted Salmon (and Legs)”

  1. Zach Terry July 5, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    We just ordered a pound of Pistachios from nuts.com – check it out, I hear their product is top quality, we’ll see. We also caught King Mackerel in the Gulf of Mexico on our vacation. I think I’ll try the recipe with Mackerel substituted for the Salmon. I’ll let you know how it goes!

  2. best in Orlando July 10, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    As a Newbie, I am continuously exploring online for
    articles that can be of assistance to me. Thank you

  3. jobs in charlotte nc July 14, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

What do you think?

