Recipes and Legs, playing catch up

8 Jul

Hope everyone had a wonderful (and safe) 4th of July! I spent mine out on a lake and then had dinner back in the city with family so definitely can’t complain. ALSO got all my wedding invites done and started on my next major craft project yesterday (big thank you to my mom, sister, and two friends who helped!)

Other than that it’s been studying for boards and working out… the usual. I do have two new recipes for you. My legs don’t get sore super often but today on the bike I was still feeling it in my quads from two days ago! I meant to post the workout but since I forgot I’ll post that as today’s.

I did arms today but it’s was a pretty basic 8 x 3 workout, although I did hit my personal best on the assisted pull-up machine… I have to admit one of my new goals is to be able to hit 5 pull-ups by myself, I’m close!

Still having a hard time finding the clean eating balance (otherwise known as using my own self-control to cook even if something else has been made…) but I did make a healthy and quick jambalaya the other day:

1 cup tomato sauce (look for a low sodium option, my parents didn’t have that in the pantry so I just didn’t add any more salt)

1 cup water

1 cup quinoa

Cajun chicken sausage (again, look for an organic where it’s only chicken and spices you know what are)

Tiny Shrimp

1 tsp Black Pepper

1 tsp Chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin

…that was it, I threw it all together and cooked it until the quinoa was done.

Another summery option I made was a cucumber mint chicken. Now, I have to add a disclaimer here… I didn’t actually get to eat the chicken. A long string of circumstances led up to my dog eating all of it after I grilled it but the marinade tasted good and I am going to cook it again this week… hopefully be able to eat it this time.

1 cucumber

8-10 oz plain greek yogurt

Fresh Mint to taste (I did about 4-5 of “stalks”)

2 tsp minced garlic (or to taste)

1 tbsp Olive Oil

Blend that all together and marinade the chicken and grill. If you have time, marinade it over night and then brush off the excess as you grill, otherwise keep brushing the extra marinade on as you grill (fair warning, the grill gets a little messy) I was going to serve it with quinoa so it would soak up the cucumber flavor.

Leg workout:

8 squats to bicep curl

8 dead lifts

10 squat to kick on heavy bag/leg

3 sets with minimal rest

1 min jump step-ups (put a foot on the bench, push off to jump to the other foot) with weight

30 sec side to side toe taps (on a Bosu ball, hop side to side just tapping your toes in the middle of the ball)

10 round house kicks/leg on heavy bag

3 sets

24 walking lunges (so 12/leg)

abs (I don’t remember that workout)

24 walking lunges

Then I stretched out and called it a day, the whole thing took about 45 min I think.

3 Responses to “Recipes and Legs, playing catch up”

  1. Kristen B. March 28, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    How many servings does the jambalaya make? I want to make it for my boyfriend and I, but I want to make sure we will both have enough to eat! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    • fitandbusy March 28, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      I made something similar the other night and it made enough for 3-4 pretty large servings ๐Ÿ™‚ you might have to add in more quinoa but that would be about it!

      • Kristen B. March 28, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

        Okay, great! Thanks so much for getting back so quickly ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think?

