(Healthy) Stress Baking

25 Jul

Well tomorrow is my NCLEX which meant I was trying to relax and just take it as it comes… so I kept busy most the morning, looked over last minute stuff and then had errands to run. But then I came home and was staring at practice tests, which wasn’t helping at all.In college I loved to bake but lately I haven’t even been making my protein bars, so instead of staring pointlessly at the computer screen I made the carrot cake protein bars again and am trying something new (of my own making…)

For the Jamie Eason carrot cake bars you’ll need:

2 tsp cinnamon

1 C Oat Flour (I use a GF blend)

3/4 C Splenda (or Truvia)

2 scoops vanilla whey protein powder

8 oz carrot baby food

4 oz water

1/4 tsp nutmeg

4 egg whites

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

Canola Oil Baking spray (or an equivalent)

Image

Mix the ingredients together- I mix all my dry ingredients and then add in the eggs, baby food, and water. Make sure you get all the protein mixed in (that’s why you can see some white spots in mine, I was in a hurry). Pour into a greased baking pan and bake at 350 for approx. 20 min; Makes 16 servings, store in the fridge since there aren’t an preservatives. The basic nutrition info can be found at: http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/video-jamie-eason-carrot-cake-protein-bars.htm

To convince those of you who don’t believe you can cook with baby food… you’d never be able to tell the difference (other than the mentioned protein not blended):

Image

 

Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies are currently in the oven… I have no idea how they are going to turn out but if anyone cares to improve on the recipe (or try it out and see) here’s what I put together. I’ll report back on how they turn out.

2 C GF oats

1/2 C Splenda

2 scoops chocolate protein powder

1 tsp baking cocoa

4 egg whites

little water for consistency (but I think I used too much)

I’m baking them at 350… it’s kind of a combination of different recipes I found so here’s hoping they turn out well! If they do I’ll post pictures or suggest any changes tomorrow after my test and a nice long workout.

 

One Response to “(Healthy) Stress Baking”

  1. katiedaisy921 July 25, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    I’m going to have to try those carrot cake bars! Thanks for sharing. And I can’t wait to hear how your Chocolate Oatmeal bars turn out. Good luck on your test!!!

What do you think?

