Back home

15 Aug

It has been a crazy past couple of weeks! We went to Vermont for my brother’s wedding, which was a ton of fun, but ended up being stuck there a couple extra days while Delta worked out a computer issue on the plane. Not the end of the world, we did get to go do some touristy things, just meant I flew to MN just to get on a plane 24 hours later to go to OK. Finally home safe and sound but leaving again on Sunday to visit future hubby!

In OK I was pretty good, worked out the first 3 days I was there, took off the last one. Unfortunately somewhere in all the traveling I picked up a sinus infection so the past two days at home I haven’t made it to the gym. I might try today since it’s the first day without a headache but will be a light workout if I make it. It made me think though, so many times I hear people either not workout because of the start of a cold or go and do a full intensity workout. My thoughts, for what they’re worth, are this…

At the beginning of a head cold etc, going to the gym for a LIGHT workout can boost your immune system enough to break through the cold (Which for the record, I did try). I emphasize light because hard workouts do initially drop your immune system function, so if you’re sick and go all out it could have a negative effect on being able to push through that cold. But if you’re already sniffling on the couch or coughing up a lung, do everyone a favor and please stay home, there are enough germs around the gym 🙂

**Side note: those are just my thoughts, you know your body. If even after a light workout with a cold you’re stuck on the couch for a week, maybe just stick with a walk around the block.

One Response to “Back home”

  1. thunder2toned August 15, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    I think a walk around the block can help sometimes especially if you have bad sinuses.

What do you think?

