Ready for fall?

26 Aug

Since I’m pretty much stuck elevating and icing my foot, I’ve been looking for new recipes to try and realized how excited I am for fall! Sure I get my man back and our wedding in October but I’ve always loved fall. Football season, perfect weather, and apple cider by bonfires… plus those delicious pumpkin lattes (which are more a dessert than a coffee)

All of this because I found this recipe I want to try for a clean baked oatmeal from Oxygen magazine. Of course with gluten free oats…

Here’s the link with nutrition info: http://oxygenmag.com/Nutrition/Articles/Baked-Pumpkin-Spice-Oatmeal.aspx

Here’s the recipe with my minor tweaks per usual:

1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free oats (that’s just what I buy)
1 cup water
1/4 cup pumpkin puree (or baby food, which I think I’m going to try to find… whichever is pure pumpkin)
2 tbsp nonfat cottage cheese
1/4 tsp baking powder
Dash sea salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp allspice (I may try it with nutmeg too)

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Combine all ingredients in an oven-proof bowl. Stir to mix thoroughly.
  3. Place in oven and let bake for 30 minutes. Remove and serve

**This is their picture, I’ll post my own when I try it

Image

 

What are some of your favorite fall recipes??

One Response to “Ready for fall?”

  1. Susan Stabile August 26, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Laura: Try it with chopped winter squash (like a delicata) instead of the pumpkin puree. I have done oatmeal with squash in a slow cooker and love the result.

What do you think?

