Working out while injured… 3

3 Sep

Back to the doctor tomorrow! Hopefully that means getting off crutches and having a little more freedom with my workouts. Although, I know it’ll still be a slow process so I’ve been looking into pools in the area to see what a temporary membership would be for some cardio- I’m also going to ask the doctor about a stationary bike as long as I wear the boot to keep the foot immobilized… This is all assuming I don’t need surgery because I’m refusing to see that as an option.

 

Here’s the workout for today…

I did one set of 20 bicep curls and shoulder raises with just a light resistance band to warm up the muscles then:

20 bicep curls

20 lateral shoulder raises

20 overhead tricep extensions

20 shoulder front raises

*3 sets with dumbbells

15 single arm dumbbell rows (on knees)

15 resistance band straight arm pull downs… I pulled the band through a joint on my stair case, on my knees I backed up until there was proper tension on the band, the picture is for tricep pull downs:

Image

15 resistance band tricep pull downs

20 crunches

*2 sets

20 Reverse crunches with ankle weight on good leg

20 oblique crunches/side

20 leg lifts with ankle weight on good leg

30 bicycles with ankle weight

Image

 

3 Responses to “Working out while injured… 3”

  1. wartica September 3, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    This is great to see that you’re finding ways to still be active, even though you’re currently injured:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

  2. Stacey February 21, 2015 at 11:05 am #

    Hi,
    I just broke my foot and am desperate to stay ( carefully) active during my recovery. I just have a couple questions about two of your exercises.
    For the oblique crunches, are you laying on your side and crunching your upper and lower body toward each other?
    And how are you doing the leg lifts? Are you laying on the floor and raising your legs to 90 degrees?
    Just needed to clarify. Thank you so very much for posting these workouts. You’re a life (and sanity) saver!

    • fitandbusy February 21, 2015 at 12:34 pm #

      Hi! For the oblique crunches, lie like you’ll do a normal crunch but then drop your knees to one side and bring them up to about 90 degrees, then just crunch with your upper body.

      Leg lifts, you got it. Don’t let your feet hit the floor between reps, straight legs and just up to about 90 degrees.

      Glad you found the workout! Good luck!

What do you think?

