Working out while injured… 4

5 Sep

Yesterday the surgeon said the MRI didn’t show any tears (yay!) but there was some swelling and a couple spots that showed injury so crutches for another week and then slowly weaning off them. I’ll still be in the boot for another 3 weeks or so but as long as all goes as planned I’ll be good to go for my wedding 🙂 Which is a big relief.
Today my mom helped me make breakfast so I had my normal 3 egg whites scrambled with an egg, some watermelon, and coffee. For lunch one of my friends is bringing over Panera so I got the Fuji Apple Salad without the cheese (480 Cal). It’s higher in Sodium (560, the limit should be 2300) and Fat (28 g…based on a 2500 Cal diet, 50-70 g should be your total/day) than is ideal but for eating out, not too bad. I found those limits at Mayo and Cleveland Clinic: http://my.clevelandclinic.org/healthy_living/weight_control/hic_reducing_fat_intake.aspx

My workout for today used more resistance bands than the past few to simulate the resistance in both directions (extension and flexion) like a cable.

20 hip extensions with ankle weight on good leg

15 “Fire Hydrants”  with ankle weight  Video:  Fire Hydrants

15 Straddle circles/leg with ankle weight

**3 sets

20 bicep curls with exercise bands

15 lateral shoulder raises with bands (hands turned down)

15 front shoulder raises with bands

**2 sets — remember different colors in the bands are different weights but you can always use more than one to reach the resistance you need

15 single leg quad extensions/leg with ankle weight (I sat at the edge of the chair and kicked my legs out in the same motion as on a machine)

30 crunches with legs up

30 reverse crunches

15 quad extensions/leg

20 leg lifts

I moved relatively quickly through it so felt a little better than I had after the first workout. I’ll still be very thankful when I don’t have to use the crutches and keep weight completely off my foot.

5 Responses to “Working out while injured… 4”

  1. uberbeastmode September 5, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    You’re a freaking rockstar! Gotta love people who will power through injuries like this. Keep up the good work!

  2. The Landy September 5, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Great committment, love your style!! Are you training for something specific???

    • fitandbusy September 6, 2012 at 12:04 am #

      Thank you! In the big picture I’m training for fitness modeling/competition but due to life circumstances that’s a long time out. Right now it’s all about feeling like I’m the best version of myself I can be 🙂

      • The Landy September 6, 2012 at 12:10 am #

        Well good luck with it….

      • fitandbusy September 6, 2012 at 12:23 am #

        Ii guess the best answer is we’re moving to Japan in November and I never want to miss out on anything because I’m not physically capable. The modeling is something I enjoy but fitness is more than that 🙂 sorry I rushed through my response earlier!

What do you think?

