Yogurt Marinated Chicken

6 Sep

Today was a good day. I didn’t work out since I did yesterday and with the injury I’m doing every other to let my arms rest as much as possible in between using the crutches. But, one of my friends came over and helped me just about finish my table numbers for the wedding and then I went to a book signing so I got to get out of the house for a bit. (Check out the book if you’re looking for some fun reading, I’m really excited about it: http://www.capitolhellbook.com/ ) Now I’m icing my foot and being good but it was really nice to see some people and feel productive.

Also, my dad was able to help me grill chicken for lunch so I made a yogurt chicken recipe. The original recipe is from Dr. Oz (http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/yogurt-marinated-chicken-breasts-quinoa-tabouli) but I played with it a lot.

3 skinless chicken breasts

1 tbsp honey

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp cumin (I put closer to 1 tsp in and it was too much)

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

lime juice (approx. 1 lime)

2 tbsp olive oil (could prob. get by with less)

Combine all marinade ingredients together and coat the chicken. We used a fork to stab the chicken so the marinade would soak in a bit and then grilled the chicken. As you grill it, add more marinade for the last 2-3 min.

**we did not marinade it for hours and it tasted great and was really moist. The yogurt does stick to the grill a bit so just let it burn off and it clears pretty easily with a grill brush.

I forgot to take a picture before cutting in but here’s what was left:

Image

2 Responses to “Yogurt Marinated Chicken”

  1. alaine66 September 6, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Looks good 🙂 I can’t wait to have a grill! I love when recipes use yogurt instead of a ton of oil or butter too.

  2. Sweat with Swagg September 7, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Reblogged this on Sweat with Swagg Fitness™.

What do you think?

