Working out while injured 5 and Progress Pics

12 Sep

Happy Wednesday! Halfway through the week and today is 3 weeks from when future hubby gets to leave his deployment, still 5.5 until he’s home but it’s a step in the right direction!

And I’m at the point where I’m slowly starting to walk (still in the boot). So around the house I’m walking while I can and when it starts to hurt I go back on the crutches. Still use the crutches when we go out since it’s longer distances and spending a lot of time sitting with it elevated but, it’s reassuring to be able to put weight on it again. Part of the problem is it’s hard to tell what pain is from the injury and what is from not using that leg for 3 weeks.

For today’s workout I added some physical therapy exercises so the actual workout is shorter:

20 Leg lifts

40 Russian Twists with dumbbell

30 crunches with legs up

30 reverse crunches

*1 set

12 bicep curls

12 overhead tricep extensions

20 resistance band rows

*3 sets

Here’s how to hook the band if you don’t have anything but bands and yourself (I had to use my other hand to take the picture):

 

And, I figured it’s only fair to keep putting progress pics. I cant say I look any better than before but I don’t think I’ve lost too much other than lower ab definition, so I’ll take it πŸ™‚

I will say the tricep looks better after the crutches… trade off I guess.

6 Responses to “Working out while injured 5 and Progress Pics”

  1. uberbeastmode September 12, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Haha yeah when I was on crutches after ankle surgery last year I think I lost everywhere BUT my triceps. They probably got bigger from all the hobbling around. My work is 250,000 square feet and we have a morning production meeting every day that’s on the complete other side of the building from my office. By the time I got there my triceps were burning like crazy and I was huffing and puffing like nobody’s business! πŸ™‚ Good luck with your recovery!

    • fitandbusy September 12, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Hahah exactly! Triceps and shoulders are great. Thanks!

  2. kccourage September 14, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    You still look fabulous!

  3. Sheslosingit.net September 18, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    That’s so inspiring that you workout even with an injury. Kudos.

    Lisa
    http://sheslosingit.net

    P.S. – you look great

    • fitandbusy September 19, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Thank you! Love reading your blog

What do you think?

