Balsamic Chicken and Leg “workout”

24 Sep

I have never been so excited to start physical therapy as I am for tomorrow (and I have had A LOT of PT). I should’ve asked him to prescribe it right away but… actually there’s no real reason I didn’t, just hoped the Dr. was right that it would heal on it’s own. So hopefully in another month I will have my full range of motion and strength in that leg back. When we went to Cirque yesterday all the walking was rough so I’ve spent most of today off of it again.

Anyway, today’s workout was legs. Started with 10 min on a recumbent bike… didn’t hurt as much this time but I really don’t like it, I’m excited to get back to the gym and use the “normal” bikes.

12 Single Leg Quad Extensions/Leg (I sat on the edge of a chair, put both ankle weights on my leg and kicked out mirroring the actions from a machine)

*3 sets

12 Hip extensions/leg with weight

12 hip abductor raises/leg with weights (see picture… another one that is obviously not mine)

12 hip adductor raises/leg (I couldn’t find a picture I like for this; lay on your side supporting your head, cross your top leg over the other so your foot is flat on the ground in front of the bottom leg, raise the lower leg up and down)

*3 sets

12 calf raises… these hurt so I couldn’t fully extend

*3 sets

 

And as promised, my attempt at the balsamic chicken. It turned out really well and it was the FIRST TIME I’ve ever had to grill by myself… I don’t know if that’s something to admit publicly but hey, I had to learn sometime!

Super easy:

1/2C Balsamic Vinaigrette (the original recipe called for Balsamic Vinegar which would have a stronger taste)

1/4C Olive Oil (*Optional if using a vinaigrette which will already have oil in it)

1 tsp minced garlic

1/4 tsp pepper

Combine all ingredients and marinade the chicken for 30 min- overnight and then grill. I then steamed broccoli and poured some of the left over marinade over it.

Here’s the link to the original recipe I found (same as I posted a couple days ago). She had a tomato/asparagus side with it.

http://maggiesbites.tumblr.com/post/26365768602/balsamic-chicken-asparagus

What do you think?

