A Real Workout (even with a boot!)

25 Sep

PT went well this morning. It was mainly checking my baseline and giving me at home exercises until Friday when I go back BUT I get to start driving (short distances) as long as I bring the boot for when I’m walking and am weaning myself out of the boot with a goal of being basically out of it in a week.

Which means… I got to go to the gym today!!! And do the real bike! Is it weird that I’m super excited about that? To be fair, it’s also the first time I got to drive in a month so the sense of freedom was nice too 😉 Talked to the trainer…. he pretty much had the same ideas I did for leg exercises I could do until I’m out of the boot but I did add in dead-lifts with my arms today.

12 dead-lifts to bicep curl

12 cable reverse flys/arm

12 cable flys/arm

12 overhead tricep extensions

*3 sets

12 lat pull downs

12 cable rows (I felt weak on these… what used to be an easy weight was a struggle on the last set)

20 incline sit-ups with weight

*3 sets

20 MIN on the bike (okay so it hurt a little but… ice made it better) and then stretched out. It’s amazing how tight my leg muscles have gotten from not using them and sitting around so much, I’m hoping I can get them to loosen up quickly now that I get to be a bit more active.

Last night I made a grilled buffalo chicken that turned out really well and was super easy.

1/4 C Plain Yogurt

3/4 C Hot Sauce

1 tsp Honey

Dash of Garlic Powder

2 tsp Worcestershire sauce **make sure to read all the ingredients if you’re gluten free or make it yourself if you’re really adventurous

Marinade the chicken for 30 min or longer and then grill. I “served it” with celery

2 Responses to “A Real Workout (even with a boot!)”

  1. uberbeastmode September 25, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Heck no it’s not weird you are super excited to get to the gym! Good for you that’s great! I did my first squats today (in the machine) but I was ecstatic myself. We are progressing! 🙂 Congrats! Hope it heals fast.

    • fitandbusy September 25, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      That’s great!! Progress is good!

What do you think?

