Marathon Season

7 Oct

Happy Sunday 🙂

I spent my morning out at the Twin Cities Marathon (no, not running… I have no desire to do that) and just want to say how amazed I am by anyone who ran a marathon today or has in the past. While I myself think running 26 miles is absolute insanity, I am so impressed by the mental and physical aspects of pushing yourself for that long. So, congrats to all you runners!!

This was the first time I’ve really gone to watch a marathon and I loved how much support there was! People had names written on their shirts or people would just yell “Go [insert shirt logo here]!” and made it feel like a huge community thing. It was really awesome to see. Now that I’ve cheered on the runners, time to get myself to the gym. Admittedly, a one hour workout doesn’t seem so bad 🙂

I’m curious… how many of you have or are training for marathons?

5 Responses to “Marathon Season”

  1. FunkyFitnessPDX October 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    I also have no desire to run a marathon. However I want to want to… if that makes sense? Becoming a runner is on my to-do list. Right behind, try every fun fitness thing in Portland, OR. 😉

    • fitandbusy October 7, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      Haha There’s for sure a sense of pride in running one, I get that. I think I’ll stick with finding “fun fitness” and gym time 🙂

  2. uberbeastmode October 7, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    Woah!!!! Guess what I did today? Cheered on my buddy at the Twin Cities Marathon! Maybe we saw each other and didn’t even know it. 🙂

    • fitandbusy October 7, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      Crazy! I didn’t realize you were up in MN. It was so fun to watch and see everybody cheering!

      • uberbeastmode October 7, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

        That’s what I was thinking about you too when you said you saw it. Yeah it was great. The part that I hated and loved all at the same time was when we were waiting on the finish line and some people would lock up, cramp up so bad they couldn’t continue. Killed me, but then with a little time and some tough will they’d get up and finish it and the crowd would go nuts cheering for them. So inspirational!

What do you think?

