Hello Again!

13 Nov

Oh man… what a month! The wedding was everything I could have asked for, the honeymoon was even better, and now I have moved to Japan! I have no car, we don’t really have a house yet, and… well, a lot of other unknowns but we’re here and I am trying to start a routine of some kind until we get more settled in.

We went to France for the honeymoon, it was wonderful! Ate lots of fondue (an easy gluten free option), had great (and some not so great) wine, and just toured around. Stayed active so I didn’t feel too bad about the food (and it was all SO fresh!) but I was ready to get back into a better diet by the time we got home.

We went up into the Alps (Chamonix, Mont Blanc) for a couple days and I have to say, I went on the hardest hike I think I’ve ever done. It was also the highest hike I’ve done to date (2317 meters at the top, lots of switchbacks)… and so worth it. The view from the top was awesome and I had a huge sense of accomplishment. Maybe misplaced, I’m sure people who hike all the time would laugh at it but hey, I was proud of myself. Here’s the view from the top… we had not been prepared for the snow so we ended up taking a tram back down.

Oh, and here’s me… running to the top because I was cold and really wanted hot chocolate:

 

Anyway, I got up with hubby this morning (his first day back at work) and made eggs and turkey bacon; I guess so far so good on the eating healthy out here? 😉 We’re house sitting for a friend so today I’m planning on taking their two dogs out, they both pull a lot so we’ll see how long the walk actually lasts, and then trying to find the gym on the base. I also plan on cooking a lot until I get settled in with a job here so hopefully that means new recipes for you guys too.

4 Responses to “Hello Again!”

  1. Jennifer Oglow November 14, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    Congratulations! And wow you have a lot going on right now. I certainly hope you’ll be able to get settled there soon. Love the pictures by the way 🙂 Looking forward to your next posts!

  2. uberbeastmode November 18, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Congrats! Wow Japan? That’s a little different than cozy MN. 🙂

    • fitandbusy November 19, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

      haha when you marry a Marine, you go where they go 🙂

What do you think?

