First Kettlebell Attempt

15 Nov

I got a really good workout in right before leaving the states, but the past few days my exercise has basically been taking the dogs on walks. So today, even though I didn’t find the gym, I took advantage of the Kettlebells in the house and looked up exercises (I had never used Kettlebells before). Here’s what I came up with…
20 min walk with the dogs

15 Around the Worlds each direction

15 Figure Eights each direction

20 Squat Swings

3 sets (I got the exercises from: Women’s Health )

30 Crunches with Kettlebell

12 curls (I just used 2 of the same weight Kettlebells)

20 side lunges

20 calf raises

3 sets

2 min rotating planks
Nothing too hard but felt it a bit in my shoulders (probably from the lack of workouts the past month) so… I’ll consider it a win for now. Also made a gluten-free Chicken Risotto for lunch today. Just trying to get back on track!

4 Responses to “First Kettlebell Attempt”

  1. mrsmurphyslawoffitness November 15, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    I’m fairly new to kettlebells too, but kind it’s a pretty good workout if you are wanting to mix it up. What size do you use?

    • fitandbusy November 15, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      I will say my shoulders are fatigued this morning so, must have done something 🙂 I used the 10 lbs since it was the first workout with them.

  2. FunkyFitnessPDX November 16, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I’ve been wanting to get into kettlebells. I’m looking to add them to my at-home arsenal!

    • fitandbusy November 19, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

      I liked it, I don’t know if it’ll become a regular thing but… probably because I don’t really know what to do with them

What do you think?

