Settling In

19 Nov

I finally found the gym yesterday! We’re house sitting for friends who live on one of the bases so, it was the gym here. No frills but everything you need and then some for a workout. And my arms and shoulders are feeling it today!

I did a pyramid set for the first exercises and then back to just 3 sets of 12 for the second superset…

(Pyramid)

8 lateral shoulder raises

8 front shoulder raises

8 bicep curls

15 tricep dips

20 squats (no weight… the “legs” changed every set because I was working in my physical therapy exercises)

20 leg raises on a “Roman Chair Machine”

12 lateral shoulder raises

12 front

12 bicep

15 tricep dips

20 lunges/leg

20 leg raises

Finally, 20 of all of the above. As you increase reps, decrease the weight so you are doing your max weight for each number of reps.
12 Front Flys

12 Chest Press

12 Tricep pull-downs

20 calf-raises

*3 sets

Then I finished with alternating 20 weighted crunches (arms straight toward the ceiling) and 15 skull crushers for 3 sets.

Also, the hubby and I have been good about keeping healthy food in the house and making dinner fresh every night. Last night I went to check out one of the cheerleading teams on the island so he made a chicken with sauteed onions and brown rice. The night before I made apple spiced pork. To be fair, we have had a lot of baked goods in the house that people have sent and my self-control has been lacking with those since I’m home most days (so it’s a good thing I found that gym 😉 ).
And, just as a life in general update, we found somewhere to settle for the next few months until we know where we’re going next. We get the keys Saturday 🙂 I’m still trying to find a job/get a foot in the door at the hospital out here but so far, we’re making steady progress. I can’t complain about all the beaches though… it’s nice seeing the ocean every day.

 

4 Responses to “Settling In”

  1. losing50laps November 19, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    What are skull crushers?

    • fitandbusy November 19, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      It’s a tricep exercise… here’s a decent video:

What do you think?

