Back… for real this time!

2 Jan

Happy New Year!! This year I really want to work on finding the balance between my fitness goals and everyday life. I’m hopefully getting into the hospital out here soon and cooking for two has been an adjustment so, time to balance it all out again.

Which, in part, starts with blogging. We finally got internet up and running at our house! It’s slow for now but it works. I have so many recipes I’ve been making and things I want to post about but instead of looking back, I’m just going to start from now.

I made a ham and sweet potato soup for dinner tonight that turned out well. Here they have the Benimo potatoes so… it was bright purple but really tasty and used the rest of our Christmas ham and the bone we had frozen. I have a shoot on Saturday so kept it simple… water, ham, potatoes, pepper (white and black), cinnamon, onions, and garlic. I made the broth first with the ham bone and spices, 1/2 onion, and 2 cloves of garlic. Then I drained it and used the broth to boil the potatoes, chopped up ham, and extra cinnamon. Took some time to boil everything down etc. but was very simple to make 🙂 I did forget to take a picture, out of practice but next time we make the potatoes I’ll make sure to post it if you haven’t seen a benimo potato before.

Other than that I made the Jamie Eason Cinnamon Bread today. I added in a pinch of nutmeg this time into the batter and I really like it. Hubby even said he’d eat the bread instead of a normal cinnamon roll so I consider it a win.

Lastly, I promised I would post the Jamie Eason Chocolate Bars again. This time I subbed in some almond meal with my GF flour… they were even better! It added just a touch more sweetness but was still totally clean. I just did 1/4 C almond meal and then the rest Namaste GF flour.

Okay, that’s all the recipes for the post! I had also said I’d post a wedding picture so, still waiting on the CD of the professional ones but here’s one our friends took. Married life has been great so far 🙂

Image

2 Responses to “Back… for real this time!”

  1. Colin DeWaay January 2, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    Great picture!

What do you think?

