Quinoa, Cucumber, and Red Pepper salad + Legs

3 Jan

This shoot on Saturday has been really good for me. I might not be as cut as I’d like to be for it but it definitely jump started me again, which I was needing. Yesterday I hit arms hard so today I did cardio and legs and tomorrow will be light cardio. But more importantly, I’ve been good about the gym, my diet has been way better the past week and I feel great!

Tonight I made a Quinoa Salad from Yoga Journal that I found on pinterest but, as always, made some changes– I didn’t use any salt and only used about half the olive oil (plus the things with ** and the steps to make it are slightly changed).

You’ll need: 1 cup quinoa
2 garlic cloves**
1 large shallot, finely diced
1 jalapeño, seeded and finely diced
Juice from 1 lime**
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil**
1 medium-large red pepper,  finely diced
1 cucumber, chopped
1/2 cup roughly chopped fresh cilantro
2 to 3 ripe avocados, sliced

1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil and add the quinoa to the boiling water and cook until tender, 12 to 15 minutes. Place aside to let cool

2. Put the garlic, shallot, jalapeño, and lime juice in a small bowl. Stir together and let sit while you prepare the next step. Add 1/4 cup of the oil (basically enough to cover the veggies) and whisk to combine.

3. Mix quinoa, red pepper, cucumber, and chopped cilantro in a medium bowl. Pour in the vinaigrette mix and stir all together.

**I had made that earlier in the day so put it in the fridge, you can also serve immediately with the following step:

4. Slice avocados and place on serving dish/plate, cover with salad mix, and garnish with fresh cilantro– I think you could easily get away with 2 avocados. I’ve used about 1/3 to 1/2 avocado per serving.

Quinoa SaladI served it with Chicken that I cooked stove top in coconut oil, cilantro, shallot (any onion would do, I just had some left over), and pepper. Hubby and I both loved it with the chicken but it could easily be a vegetarian meal on it’s own. It’s def. something I’ll be making again.

As for leg workout…

  • 20 walking lunges/leg
  • 20 squats with heavy ball throw (squat down, as you come up throw a weighted ball up, catch and immediately drop into the next squat)
  • 15 step-ups/leg
  • 20 deadlifts
  • 20 sumo squats
  • 20 calf-raises

I did 3 sets of each of those (so 2 super-sets) and then 35 min cardio. In between I tried working in kicks on the heavy bag but, I’m still getting sharp pain in my ankle with those and running so when I get back to the states I’m afraid it’s back to the doctor.

4 Responses to “Quinoa, Cucumber, and Red Pepper salad + Legs”

  1. Colin DeWaay January 3, 2013 at 7:45 am #

    MMMM Love quinoa! I pretty much make it with everything now!

    • fitandbusy January 3, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

      I know! I just started using it this year but it became a quick addiction

  2. Sheslosingit.net January 4, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    I never tried the ball throw – I always thought I might knock someone (or myself) out. What weight do you use?

    • fitandbusy January 5, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

      I usually use the 10 lb ball, that day I did 1 set with the 10 and then dropped to 8 so I could keep higher reps/speed

What do you think?

