Arms and Smoothies

24 Jan

Sorry it’s been longer than normal since I last posted! I feel like I’ve been sprinting a marathon just to get a quarter mile in order to volunteer at the hospital out here… about like this, which makes me laugh:

horizontal running

Anyway, I’ve been working out with a trainer a bit here and on Monday she KILLED my biceps… it had been a while since I’d been sore so it was good and I needed it. But then the hospital schedule kept changing so I missed 2 days of workouts :-/ Not the end of the world, rest days just came early this week. Today I hit triceps and chest. Still (semi) following the Jamie Eason LiveFit workouts so it looked like this:

3 sets of 12 for everything with a 30-45 sec rest in between:

  • Wide Push-Ups
  • Dumbbell chest press
  • Cable Flyes
  • Narrow Push-Ups
  • Overhead tricep extension
  • Tricep Pull-Downs with the rope
  • Tricep Dips

Really the only thing I changed from LiveFit was adding in the tricep dips but sometimes I work different body parts than that day calls for or take my rest day at a different time based off whatever hospital training I have. And I’m not following the diet exactly but am trying to clean up my snacks and have gotten better about after dinner snacks this past week thanks to hubby.

I’ve also discovered new smoothie combinations I really like.

  • 1 C Almond Milk
  • 1/2 – 1 frozen banana
  • 1 scoop chocolate whey protein

Or…

  • 1 C Milk (of your choice)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/4C frozen blueberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein

Both are really good and the frozen banana gives it a bit of a creaminess/sweetness… it is much easier if you peel some bananas and just throw them in a plastic bag to keep them in the freezer so you always have some on hand đŸ™‚

What do you think?

