Stretching for Migraines?

7 Feb

Well it is above zero here in MN and I have to admit… seeing snow for a little bit is actually kind of nice. Makes me feel like it’s actually winter. Got a workout in the first day I was home but jet lag finally caught up with me so opted for a nap yesterday and today :-/Gotta hit it hard tomorrow.

Went out to lunch with a friend today and she brought up an excellent question… what stretches can you do to help relieve migraines? I’m a big believer that both medicine and alternative methods should be considered when it comes to headaches and migraines, but since we can’t all afford a massage every time a tension headache creeps in, I wanted to look into it.

Here’s the three articles I found:

MuscleMagFitness

Yoga

Neck Exercises

What do you guys think? Any other suggestions for home treatment? I usually feel better with a light workout, water, and some ibuprofen but a massage with that always works best. And when it’s a really bad migraine, sometimes all I can do is sleep.

4 Responses to “Stretching for Migraines?”

  1. JenLaneulie February 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    If the migraine isn’t too far gone, I find a couple gentle rounds of surya namaskar followed by some deep breathing in child’s pose helps – especially when that is followed by an ice pack on the back of the neck! Ibuprofen seems to work best for pain relievers.

  2. Sean Robins February 7, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

    As you’ve already mentioned… WATER! If I get to the point of having a really bad headache, I’ll mix up some coconut milk, a pinch of salt, and a teaspoon of honey. After I’ve quaffed that down, I’ll make my way through about 600ml of water over 30 minutes. I’ve found that ALL of my headaches can be dealt with in this way, and I think that the headaches are less about “tension”, and more about electrolyte depletion and mild dehydration. The upshot of this is that I’ve noticed I only get headaches now when I am mildly dehydrated – due to not having consumed enough water in the prior 24-48 hours, and my little coconut “power”-drink and hydration “therapy” helps me cure the headaches quite quickly. 🙂

    • fitandbusy February 11, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      Can’t say I think it’s all dehydration but it’s def a factor! I’ll have to try that mixture

What do you think?

