Back at Cardio and Pineapple Salsa Pork

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day! For the first time since I met him, hubby and I are in the same place. So, even though it’s kind of a silly holiday, we’re going to dinner etc. tonight. Are you all doing any active date nights? It’s hard in the middle of the week but it gave me the idea, I think for a future blog post I’ll research and post different “fit dates” (input is welcome đŸ™‚ )

Anyway, I’m back in Okinawa and back to doing cardio! Phase 2 of the Jamie Eason trainer adds cardio back in, except for on leg days. I did biceps and triceps today  and then I did a hill interval on the treadmill. Still hurts my foot to run (waiting on new MRI results) but walking up hill doesn’t bother it too much so I figured it would be a happy compromise. I’m still not following her diet as strictly as I probably should to see drastic change, but I am, of course, still eating clean.

Arm workout:

  • Barbell Curl: 3 sets of 10
  • Cable Curls with Rope Attachment: 3 sets of 10
  • Tricep Rope Pull-Downs: 3 sets of 10
  • 3 sets, Superset: Alternating Hammer Curl (10)  and Tricep Dips on Bench (15)
  • SkullCrushers: 3 sets of 10
  • Tricep Extension: 3 sets of 10

Then I did 3 sets of 30 “air bike” and 2 sets of 15 “v-ups” for abs before moving to the treadmill.

When I was back in MN I made pork one night and was trying to come up with something new using ingredients that were in the house… Pineapple Salsa Pork is what I ended up with and it was good! Sorry the pictures aren’t great but I figured it was better than nothing.

You’ll need:

  • Pork (or chicken)
  • Corn or Pineapple Salsa (or make it from scratch)
  • 1 lime
  • 3 tsp minced garlic
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1/2 C chopped pineapple
  • Quinoa

salsa

  1. Juice the lime and mix with garlic, pepper, and approx 1/4C pineapple juice: Marinade Pork for at least 15-30 min (I cut up the rest of the lime and pineapple and threw it all in the bowl)
  2. Add some canola oil to skillet and heat on Medium, add in pork and remainder of marinade
  3. Cook pork for approx 2 min. on each side and then add 1 tbsp./pork loin into the skilletpork cooking
  4. Sear pork until done (approx 5 min/side… time varies)
  5. Top with Salsa to taste
  6. Serve with Quinoa

photo (2)

2 Responses to “Back at Cardio and Pineapple Salsa Pork”

  1. Colin DeWaay February 15, 2013 at 3:39 am #

    We never go out on Valentines Day since it’s so busy. We are going out tomorrow night instead. đŸ™‚

    • fitandbusy February 15, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

      That’s smart! We just went to a small/casual place, it wasn’t crowded at all, which was nice!

What do you think?

