Who knew balance was so hard…

23 Feb

After being back in the US I was home for about 2 days and then we left again to go see mainland Japan for 4 days. So basically it’s been a very busy 3 weeks. I was good about working out while I was in the US, my parents have dumbbell weights and an elliptical at their house so it was easy to at least do SOMETHING most days. But our 4 day vacation was just that, a vacation. I ate lots of rice (I love sushi rolls) and drank wine and didn’t work out. Which is fine except it was followed by a crazy 3 days here of PALS certification, work, and having friends over.

Here are some fun pictures from the trip to mainland. We spent 2 days in Tokyo and then 2 days up in the mountains. This is Tsukiji Fish Market and bamboo trees (which I don’t remember ever seeing before now) in the Imperial Gardens:

Tsukiji fish market tokyo imperial gardens

Moving on, I just finished a delicious Saturday morning breakfast (egg whites and whole grain french toast) and am getting ready to go hit the gym. It’s one of those days where I just feel like I need to do a lot of cardio and go from there. Taking a week off didn’t used to bother me but “off days” seem to be happening more and more so my 5 days/week workouts are closer to 3… it’s gotta stop. In my aim to find a happy balance this year I’ve realized I can do more carbs/ease up on my diet a bit for the sake of cooking for two as long as I’m working out 5 days a week but easing up on both my diet and workouts just doesn’t make me feel good about myself. I guess it’s just going to be more of a process to balance out mine and hubby’s food preferences and spending time between work, gym, and home.

While I definitely haven’t been completely following the LiveFit program, I am going to do the back and cardio workout for today. I’m halfway through the program and I still think that, especially for beginners, it’s is a very solid choice. I just haven’t been dedicated enough to really post progress pics etc for it. My goal now that it’s in phase 2 with cardio etc is to kind of consider it a fresh start and follow more closely for the next 6 weeks.

For more info, check out the program on BodyBuilding.com: Jamie Eason LiveFit

And speaking of progress pictures… here we go. I’m very excited to see what adding cardio back in is going to do but here’s February:

Feb Progress photo-4 (3)

Sorry about the lighting in the second one, I was going to darken it but my computer photo program isn’t playing nice again for some reason and won’t let me save anything I edit.

4 Responses to “Who knew balance was so hard…”

  1. We Are 2Fit2 Quit February 23, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    Looks like u had a blast! And as far as cardio, it kills but it works:)

    • fitandbusy February 23, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      We had so much fun! I loved seeing more of Japan. And yes, I can’t wait to really get back into it, I just feel so much better when I’m getting cardio in.

  2. dorseyml February 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

    I just finished phase 1 of the Livefit trainer. Can’t wait to start phase 2! I’m a runner so phase 1 was torture for me. Good luck with the trainer… You are looking awesome so far!

    • fitandbusy February 23, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      Thank you! Good luck to you too! I def. missed cardio… not necessarily the cardio itself but how I felt when I was running/biking/etc. 🙂

What do you think?

