Turkey Meatballs and MRI results

25 Feb

Happy Monday!

Monday

Yesterday we got some exciting news about hubby’s career with USMC so I wanted to make sure that we ate/did what he wanted to celebrate. Which turned into a carb loaded cheat day for me 😉 On the plus side, I made the “Jamie Eason Turkey Meatloaf Muffins” but made a couple changes so we could use them as meatballs for the pasta (it was quinoa pasta to be fair) last night. I normally make a bunch of these and keep them around for snacks, they’re very filling and tasty!

…I also don’t have a real oven so since I had to use a smaller pan I made a smaller batch but we still ended up with HUGH meatballs. I was kind of nervous hubby wouldn’t like them but he did so it’s definitely a recipe I’ll be continuing to make. For the smaller recipe you’ll need:

  • 1.25 lb ground turkey (For those on Oki who haven’t found it, this is in the frozen foods section)
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2-3/4C quick cooking oats (For GF cooking I use Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free oats)
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1.5 tsp ground mustard
  • 1.5 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1.5 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 1 small onion (finely chopped)
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees (190 C)
  2. Mix all the ingredients together in one large bowl
  3. Spray muffin tin with canola oil
  4. Roll the mixture into balls and place in muffin tin
  5. Bake for approx. 40 min

The muffins are approx. 180 Cal/muffin, 22.2g protein, 8g fat, 4.6g carb (according to the Jamie Eason recipe)

Picture from Bodybuilding.com

Picture from Bodybuilding.com

 

Today I worked out with a trainer again and we hit legs… hard. Basically all sorts of squats, deadlifts, and hamstring curls followed by cardio. I admit I like working with a trainer mainly because they push me to try heavier weights that I wouldn’t normally think I could so, it’s always a good workout. Now resting my foot before deciding what to make for dinner 🙂

I did see the doctor when I was home, he said there was scar tissue built up from my previous surgery and I possibly re-stretched those ligaments… joy. But I’m allowed to keep working out as I can tolerate it and sounds like we’ll look into other options once I’m back in the states.

What do you think?

