Shrimp Pasta and shoulders

4 Mar

Life is staying hectic as usual. Seems like there’s always something to distract me if I want it (and even when I don’t) but today I had a great shoulder workout with Lisa from Train Hard, StayFit, got the whole house cleaned, and I have some new recipes to share 🙂

Last week I made a crock-pot curry chicken. I’ve become obsessed with crock-pot recipes since starting to volunteer more and still working out with some clients of my own. This one I followed pretty closely so I’m just going to give you all the link… the only thing I will say is that I used more red pepper flakes to add some spice and I didn’t use any cornstarch. Clean Eating Crock-pot Curry Chicken.

Tonight I made a delicious (yes, I’m bragging) variation of Jillian Michael’s Pasta. I’m not usually one to go for seconds on pasta but tonight both hubby and I had a small second helping. I had to use a lot of self control to save the rest for lunches tomorrow.

You’ll need:

  • Quinoa (or whole wheat) pasta… I used elbow pasta
  • 1/2C nonfat plain yogurt (or buy a 6 oz. individual cup)
  • 1/4C grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2-3 squash sliced thin (or just diced) **the original recipe calls for zucchini
  • 1.5 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper (plus more to taste)
  • 2 tsp basil
  • 2 garlic cloves minced or thinly sliced
  • 1/2 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
  • salad shrimp
  • olive oil
  1. Combine yogurt, Parmesan cheese, lemon zest, salt and pepper in a large mixing bowl and set aside
  2. Heat olive oil over med-high heat and add the squash. Cook until squash is tender then add in garlic and basil. Cook another 5-10 min and then add shrimp and tomatoes, cook approx 2-5 min longer
  3. Once veggies and shrimp are done, mix in with yogurt sauce
  4. Boil pasta according to directions
  5. Add pasta to sauce and toss to evenly coat
  6. Top with extra basil and pepper to taste (would also be good with some Italian seasoning)

yogurt pasta sauce

My ankle’s been really bothering me lately (I tweaked it a few days ago) so I cancelled a photo shoot I was supposed to have this coming weekend. Bummed I can’t do the shoot but at the same time I’ve realized I like being able to cook lots of variety and not just get stuck in the strict diet you have to follow to really “cut”. Plus I finally mentioned to hubby that it was really bothering me to be missing workouts but I felt guilty choosing gym time over “us time”… he made me feel less guilty about taking an hour after work or on the weekends to go get a quick workout in so, hopefully that will translate into my getting back to my 4-5 days/week routine 🙂 So, all in all, I think I’m on the right track to that whole balance thing. Getting onto the right track, this seemed appropriate:

choose

What do you think?

