Burpees and other random things

1 Apr

Hope everyone had a wonderful Easter 🙂 We got up and had a light breakfast at the house and then went to church and brunch with some friends before settling in for a movie afternoon (it was pouring rain all morning). We tried making a quinoa crust for pizza and…  it didn’t work out so well. It was fine but nothing worth sharing, if anyone has a good recipe for that I would love it!

Our movers come in two weeks, I feel like there’s s much to do still! It’s very bittersweet leaving after only a few months but I’m so excited to settle down somewhere for a couple years and start the next chapter in our life. Hubby will basically be gone the first couple months we’re there which will make the initial settling in harder but might make it easier to get into a gym routine… we’ll see.

I’ve basically been hitting 4 workouts/week and still volunteering and training a few clients out here so it’s been good.  I’ll post pics next week but I’m slowly getting back to cardio 3 times a week too. My April goal is lifting 3-4 times a week and cardio 4-5 times. I’m losing some definition in my abs and I know its from my decreased cardio… well okay and probably from adding pasta and some other things back into my diet the past few months. For now my solution is upping cardio. My other goal is to not let it stress me out when I’m not doing as well as I should be. I still get really hard on myself after a week off or a week where I don’t feel like I did my best and… that’s probably not for the best so I’m going to work on it.

Random story time for a laugh to start your week. The other day I was training a girl who I’ve been working with for about a month now and she’s made some serious progress. I decided it was time to add some burpees and more dynamic moves into her workouts so I showed her a couple, walking her through each step as I did. When it came time for her I broke it down and we went through the first one slowly. She stood up and I told her “Okay, so that’s 1”. Now if you’ve done burpees you know “1” is actually about a 4 step move… her reaction had me cracking up. Without missing a beat she goes “1?! I think I just saw Jesus… he’s outside the window waiting.” I’ve decided I need the “Burpees don’t really like you either” shirt.

burpees

One Response to “Burpees and other random things”

  1. We Are 2Fit2 Quit April 1, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    Hilarious!

What do you think?

