Fitness Dates

27 Jun

A couple weeks ago I realized it wasn’t so much motivation to workout that I was missing… I wanted to workout, I made time to workout, but I was so bored with my workouts! I can’t justify paying for a gym membership when our apartment complex has a gym but I don’t really like the apartment gym so it’s harder to make myelf go. The cardio area is fine but the weights area is pretty cramped so, it’s not ideal and I have been doing more workouts at home since we have some weights etc. but I’ve been feeling like I want more.

Enter, Living Social. In Japan I had pretty much forgotten about Living Social and Groupon so, I signed up the other day and noticed all the different boot camps and fitness deals on there! Obviously with my ankle I’m having to be a bit choosy and not just trying everything but what a great way to mix up my workouts at a reasonable price. I bought one that’s for personal training sessions and then I just bought another one for a rock climbing gym in our area. Hubby and I both really enjoy climbing and I love finding active date ideas so I’m optimistic that in a couple months (when he’s back home) with physical therapy and working with this new doctor my foot will be able to hold up for it.

living social logo

Do you go on “fitness dates”? If so, what do you and your significant other do?

couple

3 Responses to “Fitness Dates”

  1. Lacey Pumphrey June 27, 2013 at 1:16 am #

    My husband and I are both competitive and active. We like to go on runs in our neighborhood and hit the golf range together. When we are actually at the gym at the same time we split up for cardio (I prefer to run on the track / treadmill and he prefers the StairMaster) then we meet up for abs / core / arms / legs – each person gets to pick 2-3 “stations” complete with reps and we make a circuit out of it. pretty fun gig and who doesn’t want to go home with a hot, sweaty, endorphin filled spouse!

    Ex) I slow jog 2 miles while he does stairmaster for 20 minutes. meet up
    Lacey’s stations:
    1) 30 pushups (3 sets of 10)
    2) 60 squat jumps (3 sets of 20)
    3) 60 medicine ball sit ups (3 sets of 20)
    Riley’s stations:
    1) 30 ab rollers (3 sets of 10)
    2) 45 leg lift things (3 sets of 15) (use bench – prop left heel on edge of bench while lying on back, lift hits towards ceiling – works butt & hamstring)
    3) 45 mountain climbers (3 sets of 15)

    So we quickly make up a circuit and rotate through it twice or until we are both “done”. It’s NOT a race and its fun to come together as a team and accomplish something. Plus you get to pick 3 stations YOU like doing and then are forced to do 3 stations you probably wouldn’t pick or even come up with. I have learned a lot of exercises I had never come across and vice versa. Hope this helps others! Remember though that speed is not important, form and technique are.

    • fitandbusy June 27, 2013 at 1:21 am #

      Hubby normally does his actual gym time at work but I really like this idea!

  2. Lacey Pumphrey June 27, 2013 at 1:17 am #

    lift HIPS** towards ceiling sorry typo

What do you think?

