“Beast Mode”

1 Jul

So I have these moments where I tell hubby not to worry about something that would normally fall under his “domain” because there’s another project I’ve been wanting to finish or because I like just enjoying the time we do have together since right now he’s gone most of the time until August. Today I had one of those moments.

We found a great deal on a bed frame that we couldn’t pass up. It took a long time for us to find one that we both liked and this one was hugely discounted since it was the floor model and it is missing the side boards/under support (which we’ll just make but since this isn’t a DIY blog… I’ll move on). What we didn’t know is it comes with a huge box of extra parts for if you want to convert it into a full canopy bed… a huge HEAVY box.

To make a long story short, I had told hubby I would take care of opening it and finding a home for the pieces so we could enjoy a date night last night and he could just finish a couple, less time-consuming, projects before heading back to training. I went to open up the box, expecting the size to be mainly due to packing material, only to find that it didn’t make any sense to take the parts out because it didn’t save any space. Which left me to move the huge, heavy box from our guest room to our room so there was space to tuck it against a wall. Doesn’t sound so daunting right?

Except in order to get from point A to point B I had to make three tight turns with this 8 foot long box. After lots of squats, twists, curls, and dragging the box I succeeded! As I was walking away from my “accomplishment” I had the realization that I really don’t think I would have been able to move that box by myself a couple years ago and then I felt even more proud of myself! It’s so fulfilling and motivating to see the benefits of strength training and living a healthy lifestyle in my everyday life.

Image

Success!

Okay, bragging over ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 Responses to ““Beast Mode””

  1. Colin DeWaay July 1, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    Woot woot well done! ๐Ÿ™‚ Gotta love when you see functional strength come into play!

    • fitandbusy July 1, 2013 at 10:40 am #

      Haha thanks, it was rewarding in multiple ways!

What do you think?

