“It’s the PG version of Crack”

20 Jul

…Exercise that is. These are the things that come up during my physical therapy sessions twice a week. I am a firm believer that you need to enjoy going to physical therapy, or at least feel like they’re on the same page with you, so I always look for a sports medicine place. So far, I am FINALLY seeing progress and love my PT–is that weird? They’re trying some new things and they explain to me why they’re doing what they are.

But, I’ve learned some things that I think I should pass on. For starters…

1. I’ve been doing stiff-leg deadlifts wrong for YEARS. The simplest way I can describe the change is you should feel a stretch in your hamstrings when your hands are just below your knees to mid-shin. If you don’t, keeping your knees slightly bent and back straight, think about pushing your butt back. I was always just going basically all the way to my toes and bending at the waist instead of pushing my hips back.

Deadlift video

2. My squats were jacked up too. But that was more from favoring my ankle and compensating from the injury the past year. If you ask it to, your body will find a way to do what you’re pushing it to do. Which can be a great thing but can be a harmful thing (like when you jack up your alignment from finding ways to compensate…)

**I do not have the rights to this photo

**I do not have the rights to this photo

Moral of the story? I’ve worked with a lot of trainers, one of who taught me the deadlifts and multiple who never caught the incorrect form, so be careful! And do your own research, if something doesn’t feel right keep asking until you get an answer that seems correct. I’d asked a couple different times because my “old way” always kind of hurt my back, I should have paid more attention to what my body was telling me. Writing it out makes it seem very common sense but I’d been doing it that way since high school and once you’re in a habit, you just don’t really think about doing it with a different form.

Have you ever found something out that completely changed the way you did exercises?

3 Responses to ““It’s the PG version of Crack””

  1. losing50laps July 20, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    I am always making changes because my form was poor. However, I like the lesson and can feel the difference!

  2. Kim July 20, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    Oh my goodness. Great advice, but really I just loved your title. It sums up exactly how I feel about exercise.

    • fitandbusy July 22, 2013 at 6:25 am #

      Haha I couldn’t stop laughing when that was said, it’s perfect!

What do you think?

