Act Like a 2 Year Old

30 Jul

No, I don’t mean kicking and screaming if someone won’t give you a brownie (although if you’re on a low carb day you may want to…). This sums up another conversation I had with my PT while she was attempting to correct my terrible habits.

This time she was talking about bending over. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this but I have chronic back pain from an old cheerleading injury so, while she’s been working on my foot she’s also been monitoring my back/hips. The other day I bent over to put my phone back in my purse… seems pretty mundane… and was pretty much instantly told to stop. I gave some smart response that when I bend it maintains hamstring flexibility which got a laugh but was quickly followed with an explanation of why I was wrong. So on top of changing my deadlift form, the way I walk and… other things I’m supposed to be working on, I now am also focusing on squatting down EVERY TIME. Apparently this is not just for when you’re picking up something heavy.

So where does the two year old come in? If you have a little kid around, watch them. Even if they just are reaching for a crayon or to pick something small up from the ground, they squat down to get it. As soon as she said it I realized she was right, I also feel like I’ve heard that mentioned before but never in the context of little things like putting my phone back in my purse. So adding to my long list of goals, I am now working on acting like a 2 year old. 😉

My niece is adorable but please don't steal my pictures

My niece is adorable but please don’t steal my pictures

On a more personal note, I have been a bit quiet the past week because I’ve been making some changes with my job. After a lot of debate and thought, I decided the hospital I had started at was not the best fit for me. So I have accepted a new position (still ER) at a different hospital that is closer to home and over the next couple weeks will be finishing up at my present job and getting things in place to start the new one. I’m excited about the new opportunity but kind of sad to be leaving the other hospital already. We still haven’t heard about the house we put an offer in on since it’s a short sale but, hubby gets home next week and hopefully we can start moving towards some kind of routine now.

8 Responses to “Act Like a 2 Year Old”

  1. Belinda July 30, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    I too have lower/upper – now middle back issues. Just last week I was squatted down – not turning, twisting…just squatted while picking my raspberries. Out go a vertebrae or two, three…four? Chiro that afternoon – as I was not walking, and massage the next day – created walking again. Old injuries/habits are hard to break – but I too keep trying to remember to act like a two year old – in spite of setbacks. 🙂

  2. Colin DeWaay July 30, 2013 at 3:38 am #

    Crazy, but good point! And good luck with everything!

  3. focusedonhappy July 30, 2013 at 4:21 am #

    Too funny! I’ll have to start acting like my kiddos too!

  4. losing50laps July 30, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    Interesting thoughts on watching a 2 year old….

    • fitandbusy July 30, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      It is! They haven’t had time to follow our bad habits yet, it’s pure body mechanics

      • losing50laps July 30, 2013 at 11:23 am #

        I have a 3 year old….I think I’ll take watch closer.

What do you think?

