Fired Up

29 Oct

My uncle said something this past week when I was in Oklahoma that really rang true for me. It’s going to seem common sense so, bear with me. But if you don’t see the need, finding motivation to workout is darn near impossible. Lately even though I haven’t been as toned as I like, I’ve actually been losing weight and still able to be active and start hiking etc. There wasn’t a physical need for me to prioritize gym time. I guess that’s where my reflection about motivation comes in. I need to remember sometimes that I don’t work out to stay a certain size (though it’s a plus), I workout because I feel so much better and confident about myself when I do. I hate hearing people call me a toothpick or look at my pictures from last year when I was training all the time and ask what happened but it’s not even about that… It’s about making myself proud and doing what I love.  I love working out, I love researching new workouts and trying new recipes and the boost I feel when I am really living clean.

So with the fire lit again, here we go!

Jake Zapata Photography

Jake Zapata Photography

Leg workout from today:

  • 2 sets of 20 lateral squat walks with resistance band
  • 3 sets of 12 hip extensions with ankle weights
  • 1 x 20 lying adductions
  • 2 x 20 squats
  • 3 x 12 lunges/leg
  • 2 x 20 wood-chop sumo squats (Stand with your feet wide apart, toes turned slightly out. Hold the dumbbell or medicine ball with both hands in front of you arms extended. Squat as low as you can and then as you stand swing your arms (keeping them straight) above your head. As you come back into a squat, lower your arms)
  • 1 min plank
  • 45 min walking miss Maia 😉

**I used lighter weights than I used to! Remember when you’re working back into a fitness routine after injury or time off you need to be smart about it so you don’t over train and/or hurt yourself.

And here’s just a couple progress pictures to mark the re-start, the biggest loss has been my abs:

Bicep

Bicep

Front

Front shot

Profile

Profile

What do you think?

