Breakfast is my favorite meal

14 Feb

Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope, single or taken, that you are spending the day with people you love.Poor Maia pup had surgery earlier this week so I’m trying to stay home with her and Max so she doesn’t have to stay in the cone of shame all day 😉

I have 3 new recipes to share but for the sake of trying to get back into writing more I’m only going to post one at a time. A couple weeks ago I decided I was going to make granola. My mother-in-law sends us some now and then and I love pairing it with some Greek yogurt for a quick breakfast or healthy snack. My recipe is based off hers but with a bit of variation based off what I usually keep in the pantry.

You’ll need:

  • 5 C gluten free oats (I use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 1/4C brown sugar
  • 1/2 C ground flax
  • 1/4 C flax seed
  • 1/4 C organic unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 C chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 C sliced almonds (I’ve also made it with just walnuts)
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1/3 C canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1-2 teaspoon maple syrup (or agave)
  1. Heat oats 5 min. at 350 F
  2. Stir the dry ingredients into warm oats and mix well
  3. Combine liquid ingredients and pour over dry ingredients, mix well
  4. Bake at 350 for 30-40 min, stirring every 10 min

Image

The best part of granola is you can customize it just about however you want. For example, my mother-in-law’s recipe calls for sunflower seeds but no coconut. I hope you enjoy!

Image

Serving suggestion: mixed with Greek Gods Honey Yogurt

Today I went and did a shoulder/bicep workout before running my errands for the day. Pretty short but definitely worked up a sweat!

Warm up:

  • Walking planks on BOSU (15/arm)
  • Mountain Climbers (30/leg)
  • 20 jumping jacks

Workout:

3 sets:

3 sets:

  • 20 Squat to ball throw
  • 15 cross punches to round house kick/leg (using heavy bag)

2 sets:

  • 12 bar curls
  • 2 min rotating plank (center, right, left… 20 sec. each position)

Finished with:

  • 20 weighted crunches
  • 20 bicycle crunches/leg
3 Responses to “Breakfast is my favorite meal”

  1. Tiffaspilla February 15, 2014 at 1:38 pm #

    Hey, awesome recipe! I’m always looking for new healthy and clean eating recipes to make in the kitchen! And nice workout, I absolutely love the bosu ball! 🙂 I just started a blog here, I write about fitness as well ! Continue writing, I just followed ya! Have an awesome day! xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’ve done instead of Facebook… | fit and busy - March 13, 2014

    […] I made granola for the week and a new variation of carrot cake bars. I adapted Jamie Eason’s recipe to make […]

  2. Meal Prep | fit and busy - May 22, 2014

    […] I realized I don’t have enough eggs to prep both snacks AND breakfast. I’d already made granola earlier this week so snacks […]

What do you think?

