What I’ve done instead of Facebook…

13 Mar

I hadn’t realized how much of a habit checking Facebook had become. Especially with smart phones it has become so easy to just tap the little icon while I have 5 min here and there or get out the computer just to check e-mail and pay bills and then an hour later still be looking through news feed pictures and Pinterest.

On Monday I had a day off and instead of spending my afternoon wasting time on Facebook etc. I got a short at home workout in and had a baking afternoon.

I had to do a light workout because of some medical testing they were doing so the at home workout looked like this:

2 sets:

  • 20 squats
  • 20 side squats/leg

2 sets:

  • BOSU planks with leg raises (15/leg) followed by leg abduction (10/leg)
  • 20 BOSU push-ups

2 sets:

  • 15 Hamstring bridges
  • 10 squats with medicine ball twist

Then I made granola for the week and a new variation of carrot cake bars. I adapted Jamie Eason’s recipe to make it gluten free and I’m not a fan of any of the artificial sweeteners, even Truvia (which is only like 1% actual Stevia), so I’m experimenting with honey. What substitutes do you use while baking?

Carrot Cake Protein Bars:

  • 1 C almond flour
  • 1/3 C honey (I’m still playing with this ratio)
  • 2 scoops Vanilla Whey Protein
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp all-spice
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 4 egg whites
  • 8 oz carrot baby food
  • 4 oz water
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  1. Mix all dry ingredients together
  2. Add in wet ingredients
  3. Pour batter into lightly greased baking pan (I use canola oil)
  4. Bake at 350 for approx 20 min
Image

Protein Carrot Cake

What do you think?

