Adventures with Kale

24 Mar

When we had some friends staying with us they introduced me to cooking with kale (something I had always been a little afraid to try) and then once I posted the spinach smoothie recipe, I had a few friends tell me I should try using kale smoothies too. Today I decided it was time to try it on my own.

I had a great workout at the gym and afterwards made my first kale protein shake, inspired by this Living to Dine recipe. Here’s what my recipe ended up being:

  • 1 scoop vanilla protein
  • 3/4 C almond milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 small apple (diced)
  • 1/2 tsp honey
  • 1 heaping cup kale
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal
  • cinnamon to taste (I used about 1/2 tsp)

Blend until smooth.

Image

It tasted great but was a little gritty for me, I’m not sure if adding the yogurt in the original recipe would help with that or maybe I just need to blend it more.

I also currently have a lemon chicken with kale cooking in the Crockpot for dinner. If it turns out well I’ll be sure to post that recipe soon!

Today’s leg workout I did for time so only rested for about 15 sec. between sets and then about 2 min between super-sets.

Plank warm-up

3 sets:

  • 15 walking lunges with rotation/leg
  • 1 min backward running
  • 20 side shuffles/side (make sure to stay in a low squat for these)

3 sets:

2 sets:

  • 20 squats
  • 12 deadlifts

Stretched out and called it a day after that. What are your go to workouts when you’re short on time?

2 Responses to “Adventures with Kale”

  1. FunkyFitnessPDX March 25, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    Both those recipes sounds great! I need to get back into smoothies again. I’ve been too lazy to prep stuff. 🙂

    • fitandbusy March 26, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

      I’m bad about prepping too, but I love a fresh smoothie!

What do you think?

