Shameless

21 May

If you don’t like dogs, you might as well stop reading. This is a shameless plug for the rescue pups out there. It isn’t sponsored in any way, just something that pulls on my heart.

“I just want to drink wine, save animals and work out”

Since I hurt my back I hadn’t been able to walk both the dogs by myself– my weight limit had been 20 lbs… they’re over 200 together. But now I’m supposed to be pushing myself to make sure I’ll be good to go when I do get back to work. Which means… time to walk the pups! So me, myself, and I walked my greater than 200 lbs worth of dog on a hike. I’ll admit, I was nervous. One good pull and I’d be back to the start but, they were so good! If you knew Maia you’d be surprised by this too; I swear she only has one setting on a walk and it’s “go”. It reminded me that dogs are more intuitive than we give them credit for a lot of times. It’s easy to forget when they’re driving us crazy barking at the groundhogs or pulling on their leash but they try to take care of us. At the very least they get you up off the couch and take you on walks (or runs). I’m a firm believer that dogs are a staple in an active life 😉

Nicole photo 1

Nicole Litton Photography

dogs door Max walk

So here’s my request. If you can, get involved. Donate time, donate money, donate supplies. Volunteer, foster, or adopt. However you can, just get involved. “Our” rescue is East Coast Gentle Giants. Of course it would be great if you chose to help them but, really, any rescue needs support.

What do you think?

