Eggless French Toast

24 May

Remember during my meal prep how I was running low on eggs? Well this morning I was out of eggs (oops) and my normal go to of yogurt and granola just wasn’t going to cut it. As I was running through ideas in my head I remembered that I had seen you can substitute ground flax for egg. Inspired by this Minimalist Baker recipe I was a little skeptical but decided to try it. Oh my word, it completely exceeded my expectations.

First I mixed the flaxseed and almond milk and just let that sit for a couple minutes before mixing in the other ingredients. Once it was all mixed I pour it onto a plate so I can soak the bread. I use Rudi’s Gluten Free multi-grain bread, if you aren’t gluten free any whole wheat bread should work.

ImageOnce the bread is soaked on both sides just throw it in the greased skillet and cook until both sides have browned, turning occasionally.

Image

ImageI served it with fresh strawberries and just a touch of maple syrup. To be honest I think I liked it better than the french toast we normally make (sorry hubby).

You’ll need:

  • 1 C almond milk
  • 3 Tbsp flax meal/ground flax
  • 1/2 Tbsp cinnamon (this one’s an estimate, I didn’t measure)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2-1 Tbs coconut oil
  • 4-5 slices of bread
  1. Combine flax seed and almond milk in a small bowl and let sit approx. 2 min
  2. Mix in cinnamon, vanilla and maple syrup and pour combination onto a plate
  3. Dip bread for about 30 seconds on both sides (enough for it to soak in the mixture)
  4. Heat coconut oil on skillet to grease the pan
  5. Place soaked bread in skillet and cook until bottom is golden brown, then flip bread and cook until both sides are browned
  6. Top with fruit and/or syrup of choice and enjoy!

Nutrition estimate (I used My FitnessPal): Serving size 2-2.5 pieces: 305 Cal, 13 g Fat, 50 g carbs, 6 g protein

11 g sugar, 9 g fiber, 465 mg sodium

2 Responses to “Eggless French Toast”

  1. Run Colby Run May 24, 2014 at 12:25 pm #

    Wowzah! Adding this baby to my list!!!!

    • fitandbusy May 24, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

      It was SO good, I’m working up the nutrient break down now

What do you think?

