Cupcakes and Tea

2 Jun

Some nights you just have to bake. And that’s okay, as long as it’s in moderation 😉

After working to re-landscape our backyard all day, tonight I just wanted dessert. My mother-in-law had sent a chocolate cake mix last month for hubby’s birthday so I finally used it tonight to make cupcakes. I am so glad Betty Crocker now makes gluten free mixes, while I love baking from scratch some nights it’s just easier to use the box.

What I DID make from scratch tonight was the frosting. Chocolate almond happiness. I’d made frosting for cookies before but had never really experimented with it. For this I wanted something a bit fancier than plain chocolate. Almond extract is almost always my go to for baking and it didn’t let me down! If you’re planning cupcakes with your next cheat meal here was the recipe:

2.5 C powdered sugar
3 TBS milk
1 tsp almond extract
1/4 C cocoa powder
1/2 C butter

Using an electric mixer, whip ingredients together until smooth.

20140602-211846-76726888.jpg

One Response to “Cupcakes and Tea”

  1. alifemoment June 3, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

    Yummy! 🙂

What do you think?

