Back to Work

9 Jun

Well… good news! At the end of May I got cleared to go back to work, full duty. It was a bit of an adjustment to jump right back in and I’ve been trying to pick up at least one mini-shift each week on top of it to make up for some lost time and get a few extra hours before we leave for Italy later this summer.

Jumping right back in has also been a quick reminder that I’m not 100% yet so workouts have still been a little lighter than normal. I’m getting great use out of the home workout DVDs I bought for that very reason. I already told you what I thought about Pop Pilates so I thought I’d also include my mini-review of Yoga for Beginners by Bodywisdom.

What I like: you can make the workouts as long or as short as you want. They break it up into mini-routines so you can work out for 10 minutes or 60 minutes.

It’s also very easy for yoga beginners (yours truly) to follow. It moves at a pretty slow pace so I never felt lost.

The flip side: Because it moves slow I didn’t always feel like I was actually working.

Bottom line: I still have a couple of the routines to try but all in all it’s a great way to unwind and relax after a busy day or to use as an active rest day but it won’t be replacing a full workout. I do really like adding it in at the end of doing my PT (lots of core) exercises for a little extra boost.

Image**Throwback yoga photo, Judd Furlong Photography

Other than that, still struggling with getting into a solid meal prep routine so I’d say I wasn’t completely successful with that May goal but I have been doing at least SOMETHING 5 days a week and stretching more, so that’s a win.

What do you think?

